Post

How do I turn this off? If I open a new window from the start menu, it's because I want a new window, not a duplicate of the same window. Genuinely can't see the use case for this, but clearly from the replies people want it. It's a blocker for use for me...

Joining in on the disappointment with this being a default feature. I understand wanting tabs synced, but the content within the tabs being synced is disruptive for me. It's not a natural workflow. Please make this opt in with easy UI. about:config is not something most users poke around in.

omg yesssss i thought synced windows meant this at first it's already great but devicewide sync would be SUCH a banger, considering how many ads i open from instagram to "check it out later" but never do cuz it stays in the void that is mobile browser's tabs

This kiiiinda works already if you use Firefox on mobile just by Zen being built on top of Firefox; Just need to enable the "Synced Tabs" toolbar item and as long as you are signed in to Mozilla on both then it works. I just dump those into a Read Later bookmark folder which also sync okay also.

yeaaaaaa but its like, in a 200px wide modal, having it really fully there would be so much nicer (idk if its just me but things in modals feel "brittle" cuz if you click anywhere you lose it all, like what if i wanna change playlists on spotify or what if i missclick 10px outside the modal)

initially, I tough this would be good. I thought that finally the tabs above the "new tab" button would be synced, so that my most accessed stuff would be in place, while the other tabs would continue to behave. that, in my opinion, would be very good.

the way it syncs eight now, however, is not good. I'm on youtube, and I open a video I might want to watch later in a new tab, now I have that tab open below my current tab and on the top of my list of tabs on my other window, and since both DOMs are independent, it uses double the ram..

also the fixed tabs, I added a new link to the end of my list, and in the other window, it was added to the top, first link. this is not real sync if it messes up the order of everything.. Also, I already had two windows open, and apparently, I can't make them unsync.

so, I'd have to open a new, unsynced window, and move all my tabs there, worried on how it will behave when I close a tab that does not exist in the other open window, unaware if it will close some other tab while trying to sync both windows.

ohh nice! This is a big update! any updates for scrolling with a trackpad planned? can’t tell if it’s Firefox, Linux or zen but it feels really bad to scroll with finger gestures 😅

Previously, users lost their tabs after closing windows. This is now fixed thanks to our implementation of syncing windows. We understand that it might be weird at first, but promise that it is worth it for the long-term. We'll add a follow up post in the coming days explaining the vision.

Lost their tabs after closing windows? Isn't that the whole idea behind having (different) windows? Why have multiple windows, if they all show the same anyways?

You don't organise your second window with different stuff just to lose it all after closing / restarting, do you? The whole idea behind window sync is for you to keep them. But for it to work you now need to use Spaces, which we also recommended before.

just made this account to share how much I absolutely hate this feature and can't figure out how to turn it off. When I open a new window it's because I want a new window, not a clone of my existing window :( neat option, but I can't imagine many people wanting this as default behaviour

How on earth do I turn this off? ;-; I don't understand why you'd want this. It removes the point of having separate windows in the first place. I'm so close to going back to firefox which is a shame because Zen has been amazing until now

Previously, users lost their tabs after closing windows. This is now fixed thanks to our implementation of syncing windows. We understand that it might be weird at first, but promise that it is worth it for the long-term. We'll add a follow up post in the coming days explaining the vision.

This is not fixed. I have NEVER lost tabs before using zen. UNTIL this update : I just lost a bunch of tabs. I don't even use multiple windows. This affects me a lot since I use tabs for remembering things I have to do.

It isn't worth it IMO. Window sync is one of the features that made me LEAVE Arc in favour of Zen (besides looking for a Firefox-based browser). Please at least keep the option off turning Window Sync around for those of us that don't want it.

please surface the "want-unsynced-windows" and/or the "window-sync.enabled" setting in the main UI. this is a massive and utterly unintuitive change to just force on your users. browser windows are delineations between groups of tabs; if theyre not, i have no reason to open any new ones.

sneaking new misfeatures in without my permission and tut-tutting at me to use them anyway is why i left firefox and if zen is also going to do it then ill just go back to firefox.

this is the coolest feature i've seen a browser drop, and i didn't even realize i needed it. it's amazing for multi monitor use! and cross device sync would just be the icing on the cake if that happens!