Post

Something that hasn't been made clear: Firefox will have an option to completely disable all AI features. We've been calling it the AI kill switch internally. I'm sure it'll ship with a less murderous name, but that's how seriously and absolutely we're taking this. …

All AI features will also be opt-in. I think there are some grey areas in what 'opt-in' means to different people (e.g. is a new toolbar button opt-in?), but the kill switch will absolutely remove all that stuff, and never show it in future. That's unambiguous. …

If you don't understand that opt-in for this has to mean "is not enabled by default and is never enabled except by specific user request" then your process has already failed. It has to be Off with an On button, not On with an Off button.

I've spoken to a lot of folks about what counts as opt-in. Some say a toolbar button that does nothing until pressed is opt-in. Some say the only acceptable opt-in is a build-time flag that would need manually compiled. So it's a grey area. Whereas the kill-switch is unambiguous.

I'm trying to point out that the premise of the question is faulty, because the definition of opt-in is a grey area. Maybe try giving me your as-watertight-as-possible definition?

0 reposts0 likes

In the example, someone may not care that a toolbar is there and they disable it, but having it there by default wasn't a choice the user could actively participate in. Therefore, it isn't opt-in, but opt-out. Hope you have a lovely Friday, and this all works out the best it can. Can't be fun!

One could, and would be correct; though not what we're taking about here. There is zero grey area. If a user actively chooses to participate in something that's opt-in. If they must act to undo something or refuse consent after, that's opt-out.

It's not actually a grey area. If someone wants to take it that much further, discuss that with them, don't use it to muddy the waters around what "opt-in" means.

Any one of your AI features must be *doing a thing*. I am asking whether any of those features will be doing any of the things they do when the user opens the updated version of the browser, before they find and activate the "kill switch". Your description implies on by default until switched off.